HARTMANN & BRUNN

Chapman Stick / 7-string guitar

Our project

Urban Worldjazz on 19 Strings | Berlin . Zurich | The 19 Strings tour!
Hans Hartmann (Switzerland) chapman stick |
Andreas Brunn (Germany) 7 string acoustic guitar

Here you can see a video of one of our duo´sHARTMANN & BRUNN last concerts.

Many thanks to Iven Hausmann of Jazz Units and Ulf Drechsel of RBB.

Hans Hartmann is very ill and unfortunately he can´t play the chapmanstick any further.

HARTMANN & BRUNN are this year’s winner of the Studiopreis Jazz, awarded by Berliner Kultursenat. Their new CD “19 Strings” has just been released by LAIKA Records.

New CD

Here you can listen the CD. Enjoy.

The Chapmanstick of the Berlin-based Swiss virtuoso Hans Hartmann sounds like two instruments. So you hear the sound of a trio played by two musicians! Hans Hartmann has worked with the likes of Udo Lindenberg, Hannes Wader, Lydie Auvray, Chet Baker, Philly Joe Jones and Attila Zoller, and has the ability to create immense variety and colour with his music, often combining a melody with a funky bassline or a tight harmonic cluster with a bowed drone.

Andreas Brunn mixes jazz styles with uneven Balkan metrics and dextrous plectrum techniques. He adds even greater contrasts through his use of the instrument’s resonant body as percussion, and, with the supplementary string of his seven-string guitar, is able to play bass in various keys. with the supplementary string of his seven-string guitar, is able to play bass in various keys.

Brunn’s composition „Two Faces“ won the first prize at the national guitar composing competition awarded by the magazine AKUSTIK Gitarre.

Amongst other things the duo have also taken part in the International Guitar Festival, “OPEN STRINGS” in Osnabrück and JAZZIT in Munich.

Biography

HANS HARTMANN – Swiss… living in Berlin. Can only be grasped biographically with a Reclam guide of – European – oriental music. His career began in Switzerland with the award for best amateur jazz bass player in 1967. Later he played the double bass in bands of various American musicians during their European tours with Chet Baker, Philly Joe Jones and Attila Zoller, among others.

He was also a long-time member of the groups of Hannes Wader, Lydie Auvray and Jesse Ballard (Paradise Island Band) as well as the Häns`che Weiss Ensemble. Hans Hartmann was the electric bass player in the legendary band Guru Guru.
He has been playing Chapmanstick since 1980 and founded the band STICKSTOFF in 1983, with whom he released a CD of the same name and the LP “Swindia”. In 1994 he met Andreas Brunn during an engagement for a theater and the idea of a multi-stringed duo project was born, which has since been expanded in many ways.

ANDREAS BRUNN – born in 1964 in Weimar, has been playing the clarinet since he was six, began to learn the guitar at the age of fourteen and has been a musician in bands of various styles ever since. He studied guitar and music theory at the “Franz Liszt” University of Music in Weimar.

His composition “Two Faces” was awarded 1st prize in the guitar composition competition Open Strings in 1999, announced throughout Germany by the specialized magazine AKUSTIKGitarre.

The guitarist has given concerts at various European and Asian festivals and has worked with Petri Hakala, Stoyan Yankoulov, Ateshan Husseinov, Uli Bartel, Mack Goldsbury, Ralf Siedhoff, Ferenc Snetberger and has given concerts with a solo program. Andreas Brunn took conga lessons with Topo Gioa and teaches percussion using the Ta-Ke-Ti-Na method.

In 2003 he was a scholarship holder of the Senate Department for Science, Research and Culture, Berlin in Bulgaria and in 2008 also a scholarship holder in Finland.

In the summer of 2004 and 2007 he was the artistic director of the EU-supported project “Young Music Caravan Europe”, which traveled 7,500 km with young musicians from Europe and made guest appearances at renowned festivals in a large number of countries.

Press

JAZZ PODIUM 
Hartmann & Brunn CD review: “nineteen strings” 

“Finally you can also listen to them at home, the two soul mates Hans Hartmann and Andreas Brunn. The latter is known from“ For Free Hands ”, from the“ Young Music Caravan ”he helped initiate and his acoustic 7-string work in the half the world. :: ” Alexander Schmitz

SOUTHGERMAN NEWSPAPER 

“Everything flows – the guitarists Hans Hartmann and Andreas Brunn have developed their very own tonal language …” Jörg Konrad

Hartmann & Brunn live

Contact

Are you planning an event and would like to inquire about one of the artists or bands? Please do not hesitate to contact us.

HARTMANN & BRUNN

Chapman Stick / 7-saitige Gitarre

Das Projekt

Urban Worldjazz on 19 Strings | Berlin . Zürich | Die 19 Saiten Tour!
Hans Hartmann (Schweiz) chapman stick |
Andreas Brunn (Deutschland) 7 string acoustic guitar

Hier könnte Ihr eines der letzten Konzerte unseres Duos HARTMANN & BRUNN sehen & hören.

Vielen Dank an Iven Hausmann von den Jazz Units und Ulf Drechsel vom RBB.

Hans Hartmann ist schwer erkrankt und kann sein Instrument Chapmanstick leider nicht mehr spielen.

Das Duo Hartmann & Brunn war Preisträger des vom Berliner Kultursenat ausgerichteten Studiopreis. Die mit dem Preis verbundene CD “19 Strings” erschien 2016 bei LAIKA Records

Neuer CD

Hier können Sie die CD anhören. Viel Spaß.

Der Chapmanstick des in Berlin lebenden Schweizer Virtuosen Hans Hartmann klingt wie zwei Instrumente. Sie hören so den Sound eines Trios, gespielt von zwei Musikern! Hans Hartmann arbeitete Genre-übergreifend mit einer Vielzahl von bekannten Musikern, wie Udo Lindenberg, Hannes Wader, Lydie Auvray, aber auch mit Chet Baker, Atilla Zoller und Philly Joe Jones.

Der unnachahmliche Sound des zwölfsaitigen Chapmanstick entsteht beidhändig getappt. Dadurch erhält Hans Hartmann die Möglichkeit, auf einem einzigen Saiteninstrument zwei Linien gleichzeitig zu spielen, vergleichbar dem System eines Pianisten. Er verblüfft dabei aber auch durch eine Vielzahl von Klangmöglichkeiten, setzt eine getragene Melodie über einen funky gespielten Baß oder enge harmonische Cluster zu einem gleichzeitig mit dem Bogen gestrichenen Bordun.

Andreas Brunn, der Stilistiken aus dem Jazz mit den ungeradzahligen Metren des Balkans sowie Finger- und Plektrumtechniken zu verbinden weiß, bereichert die Arrangements durch Percussion auf dem Korpus seines siebensaitigen Instrumentes.

Andreas Brunn gewann bei einem durch das Fachmagazin AKUSTIK Gitarre Deutschlandweit ausgeschriebenen Gitarrenkompositionswettbewerb den 1. Preis. Das Duo konzertierte u.a. auf dem Internationalem Gitarrenfestival „OPEN STRINGS“ in Osnabrück sowie JAZZIT in München.

Biographie

HANS HARTMANN – Schweizer … in Berlin lebend. Biographisch nur mit einem Reclam-Führer der – europäisch – orientalischen Musik zu erfassen. In der Schweiz begann sein Werdegang mit der Auszeichnung als bester Amateur- Jazz- Bassist 1967. Später war er Kontrabassist in Bands verschiedener amerikanischer Musiker während derer Europatourneen u.a. bei Chet Baker, Philly Joe Jones bis hin zu Attila Zoller.

Außerdem war er langjährig Mitglied in den Gruppen von Hannes Wader, Lydie Auvray u. Jesse Ballard (Paradise Island Band) sowie im Häns`che Weiss Ensemble. Hans Hartmann war E-Bassist der legendären Band Guru Guru.
Seit 1980 spielt er Chapmanstick, gründete 1983 die Band STICKSTOFF, mit der er eine gleichnamige CD sowie die LP “Swindia” veröffentlichte. 1994 traf er auf Andreas Brunn bei einem Engagement für ein Theater und es entstand die Idee eines gemeinsamen vielsaitigen Duoprojektes, inzwischen in vielerlei Hinsicht erweitert wurde.

ANDREAS BRUNN – 1964 in Weimar geboren, seit dem sechsten Lebensjahr Klarinette spielend, begann im Alter von vierzehn Jahren Gitarre zu erlernen und war seit der Zeit Musiker in Bands verschiedenster Stilistiken. Andreas Brunn studierte an der Hochschule für Musik “Franz Liszt” in Weimar Gitarre und Musiktheorie.

Seine Komposition “Two Faces” wurde 1999 mit dem 1. Preis des Gitarrenkompositionswettbewerb Open Strings ausgezeichnet, durch das Fachmagazin AKUSTIKGitarre Deutschlandweit ausgeschrieben.

Der Gitarrist konzertierte auf diversen europäischen und asiatischen Festivals und arbeitete u.a. mit Petri Hakala, Stoyan Yankoulov, Ateshan Husseinov, Uli Bartel, Mack Goldsbury, Ralf Siedhoff, Ferenc Snetberger und konzertiert mit einem Soloprogramm. Andreas Brunn nahm bei Topo Gioa Unterricht im Congaspiel und unterrichtet Percussion nach der Ta-Ke-Ti-Na Methode.

2003 war er als Stipendiat der Senatsverwaltung für Wissenschaft, Forschung und Kultur, Berlin in Bulgarien und 2008 ebenfalls als Stipendiat in Finnland.

Im Sommer 2004 und 2007 hatte er die künstlerische Leitung des von der EU unterstützten Projektes “Junge Musik Karawane-Europa”, welches in beiden Jahren mit jungen Musikern aus Europa 7.500 km unterwegs war und dabei in einer Vielzahl von Ländern auf renommierten Festivals gastierte.

Presse

JAZZPODIUM 
Hartmann & Brunn CD Rezension: “nineteen strings” 

„Endlich kann man sie auch zuhause anhören, die beiden Seelenverwandten Hans Hartmann und Andreas Brunn. Letzteren kennt man von „For Free Hands”, von der von mit ihm mitinitiierten „Jungen Musik-Karawane” und seiner akustischen 7-string-Arbeit in der halben Welt.::“ Alexander Schmitz

SÜDDEUTSCHE ZEITUNG 

„Alles fließt – Die Gitarristen Hans Hartmann und Andreas Brunn haben eine ganz eigene Tonsprache entwickelt…“ Jörg Konrad

Hartmann & Brunn live

Kontakt

Sie planen ein Event und möchten einen der KünstlerInnen oder Bands anfragen? Nehmen Sie gerne Kontakt zu uns auf.