ANDREAS BRUNN

Guitar / composition / percussion / workshop projects

Our project

Andreas Brunn, who combines various influences in his style, sounds like a small orchestra with his seven-string instrument: his guitar is a magical instrument, can be drum or bass alike. The pickup of this instrument works in stereo, the bass and melody strings on different channels seem almost like different instruments and allow a particular perception of the sound. Including a looper, an exciting new soloprogram was developed.

“Basically, each day with music is a new beginning to me
and I’m grateful to have found my way to this unique instrument
– through all twist and turns of our zeitgeist.
Regarding the many,
many possible ways one can create sounds and rhythm, harmonize them in various styles –
all that makes playing guitar an Endless Universe…”

Biography

Andreas Brunn was born in Weimar in 1964, played the clarinet since the age of six, started learning the guitar at the age of fourteen and has been a musician in bands of various styles ever since. He studied guitar and music theory at the “Franz Liszt” University of Music in Weimar.

His composition “Two Faces” was awarded 1st prize in the guitar composition competition Open Strings in 1999, announced throughout Germany by the specialized magazine AKUSTIKGitarre.

The guitarist has given concerts at various European and Asian festivals and has worked with Petri Hakala, Stoyan Yankoulov, Ateshan Husseinov, Uli Bartel, Mack Goldsbury, Ralf Siedhoff, Ferenc Snetberger and has given concerts with a solo program. Andreas Brunn took conga lessons with Topo Gioa and teaches percussion using the Ta-Ke-Ti-Na method.

In 2003 he was a scholarship holder of the Senate Department for Science, Research and Culture, Berlin in Bulgaria and in 2008 also a scholarship holder in Finland.

In the summer of 2004 and 2007 he was the artistic director of the EU-supported project “Young Music Caravan Europe”, which traveled 7,500 km with young musicians from Europe and made guest appearances at renowned festivals in a large number of countries.

Press

“… the Weimar sevenstring guitarist and percussionist Andreas Brunn takes the term “world language” music literally. Since the mid-nineties, he has been building bridges to the East, crossing Bulgarian metres with jazz, teaching children rhythm as a social bonding agent, wisely wandering the terrain between jazz and “world music” in the group For Free Hands and has been instrumental in gaining respect and support for the internationally mixed “Young Music Caravan”, not only in the EU. And that’s not all. He also exist in duos and solo.

In 2006 For Free Hands, formerly 4 Free Hands, released the CD “Transversal” (Laika-Records 35610224.2) The fact that FFH calls their music “contemporary European jazz” may arouse interest, but it only indicates one facet of this music: Andreas is German, the double bass player Jonathan Robinson is American, Vladimir Karparov on soprano and tenor saxophone is Bulgarian, Dimitris Christides is a Greek with experience in London and the excellent singer Charlota Hagfors, who is here as well as Hans Hartmann, comes from Finland. Everyone got to know each other in Berlin: “Europe is growing together, For Free Hands provides the soundtrack.” This is not gaga, just as optimistic as the thinking of many artists brings with it. When a quartet travels across Europe as part of a project called Junge Musik Karawane and then performs at the jazz festival in Pori, Finland, one thinks optimistically: Music overcomes borders as easily as any bird.

Andreas Brunn Live

Favorite quote

"Tradition is the passing on of the fire and not the worship of the ashes."

- Gustav Mahler

quote-light.png

Concerts

Duomeeting @ Jazz im MIM

25.08.22 19.30, Jazzlights im MIM, Curt-Sachs-Saal https://www.simpk.de/ueber-uns/veranstaltungen/veranstaltungs-detailseite/veranstaltung/2022/08/25/duomeeting.html |www.akustik-art-kontakt.de

24.08.22 20:00, Gitarrenfestival Kühlunsborn | www.kunsthalle-kuehlungsborn.de/event/andreas-brunn-trio/

06.07.22 20:00, Jazzlights Open Air in front of Zwinglikirche (Rudolfplatz), www.facebook.com/JazzlightsGluehlampe |  www.akustik-art-kontakt.de

Contact

Are you planning an event and would like to inquire about one of the artists or bands? Please do not hesitate to contact us.

ANDREAS BRUNN

Gitarre / Komposition / Percussion / Workshop – Projekte

Das Projekt

Andreas Brunn, der in seinem Stil verschiedenste Einflüsse verbindet, klingt mit seinem siebensaitigem Instrument wie ein kleines Orchester: Seine Gitarre ist ein magisches Instrument, kann Trommel oder Bass gleichermaßen sein. Der Tonabnehmer dieses Instrumentes arbeitet in Stereo, so wirken Bass- und Melodiesaiten auf verschiedenen Kanälen fast wie verschiedene Instrumente und ermöglichen eine besondere Wahrnehmung des Sounds. Unter Einbeziehung eines Looper entstand ein spannendes neues Soloprogramm.

“Eigentlich ist jeder Tag mit Musik ein neuer Anfang und ich bin dankbar,
dass ich in den alltäglichen Wirrungen unseres Zeitgeistes den Weg
zu diesem einzigartigem Instrument gefunden habe.
Das Spiel auf der Gitarre ist im Hinblick auf die
vielen Möglichkeiten Sounds zu erzeugen, Rhythmen zu setzen,
und in verschiedensten Stilistiken zu harmonisieren ein unendlicher Kosmos ….”

Biographie

Andreas Brunn 1964 in Weimar geboren, seit dem sechsten Lebensjahr Klarinette spielend, begann im Alter von vierzehn Jahren Gitarre zu erlernen und war seit der Zeit Musiker in Bands verschiedenster Stilistiken. Andreas Brunn studierte an der Hochschule für Musik “Franz Liszt” in Weimar Gitarre und Musiktheorie.

Seine Komposition “Two Faces” wurde 1999 mit dem 1. Preis des Gitarrenkompositionswettbewerb Open Strings ausgezeichnet, durch das Fachmagazin AKUSTIKGitarre Deutschlandweit ausgeschrieben.

Der Gitarrist konzertierte auf diversen europäischen und asiatischen Festivals und arbeitete u.a. mit Petri Hakala, Stoyan Yankoulov, Ateshan Husseinov, Uli Bartel, Mack Goldsbury, Ralf Siedhoff, Ferenc Snetberger und konzertiert mit einem Soloprogramm. Andreas Brunn nahm bei Topo Gioa Unterricht im Congaspiel und unterrichtet Percussion nach der Ta-Ke-Ti-Na Methode.

2003 war er als Stipendiat der Senatsverwaltung für Wissenschaft, Forschung und Kultur, Berlin in Bulgarien und 2008 ebenfalls als Stipendiat in Finnland.

Im Sommer 2004 und 2007 hatte er die künstlerische Leitung des von der EU unterstützten Projektes “Junge Musik Karawane-Europa”, welches in beiden Jahren mit jungen Musikern aus Europa 7.500 km unterwegs war und dabei in einer Vielzahl von Ländern auf renommierten Festivals gastierte.

Presse

„… Der Weimarer Sevenstring-Gitarrist und Perkussionist Andreas Brunn nimmt den Begriff der „Weltsprache“ Musik wörtlich. Seit Mitte der Neunziger baut er Brücken nach Osten, kreuzt bulgarische Metren mit Jazz, bringt Kindern Rhythmus als soziales Bindemittel bei, erwandert sich klug das Terrain zwischen Jazz und „Weltmusik“ in der Gruppe For Free Hands und hat maßgeblich dafür gearbeitet, der international gemischten „Junge Musik Karawane“ Respekt und Unterstützung nicht nur in der EU zu verschaffen. Und das ist noch lange nicht alles. In Duos und solo gibt’s ihn auch.

2006 erscheint von For Free Hands, vormals 4 Free Hands, die CD „Transversal“ (Laika-Records 35610224.2) Dass FFH ihre Musik „zeitgenössischen europäischen Jazz“ nennt, mag Interesse wecken, deutet aber doch nur auf eine Facette dieser Musik hin: Andreas ist Deutscher, der Kontrabassist Jonathan Robinson ist Amerikaner, Vladimir Karparov an Sopran- und Tenorsaxophon ist Bulgare, Dimitris Christides ist London-erfahrener Grieche und die hier ebenso wie Hans Hartmann gastierende vorzügliche Sängerin Charlota Hagfors kommt aus Finnland. Kennen gelernt haben sich alle in Berlin: „Europa wächst zusammen, For Free Hands liefert den Soundtrack.“ Das ist nicht gaga, sondern nur so optimistisch, wie es die Denke vieler Künstler mit sich bringt. Wenn ein Quartett im Rahmen eines Projekts namens Junge Musik Karawane quer durch Europa reist und dann noch im finnischen Pori beim Jazzfestival auftritt, dann denkt man optimistisch: Musik überwindet Grenzen so leicht wie jeder Vogel.

Andreas Brunn Live

Lieblingszitat

„Tradition ist die Weitergabe des Feuers und nicht die Anbetung der Asche.”

— Gustav Mahler

quote-light.png

Konzerte

19.06.2022, 18:00, Kulturhaus Schwartzsche Villa, www.schwartzsche-villa.de

06.06.2022, 21:00, Kunstfabrik Schlot, www.kunstfabrik-schlot.de

06.05.2022, 20:00, Café Tasso, www.cafe-tasso.de

Kontakt

Sie planen ein Event und möchten einen der KünstlerInnen oder Bands anfragen? Nehmen Sie gerne Kontakt zu uns auf.