A. Brunn - V. Karparov - S.Rainer

Soprano & tenor saxophone / 7-string acoustic guitar, percussion / electric guitar

Biography

VLADIMIR KARPAROV was born in Sofia in 1977 and graduated from the French high school in 1995 with a diploma. He started playing the saxophone at the age of 13 and was soon giving concerts with a Bulgarian wind orchestra. He played jazz for the first time as a street musician in Sofia. During this time he performed with big bands as well as with smaller formations and also played rock, soul and ska.

From 1995 to ’99 his musical home was the State Music Academy “Pantcho Vladigerov” in Sofia – Karparov had chosen jazz and popular music as his main subjects.
In 1999 he began to study jazz at the Hamburg University of Popular Music and successfully completed his studies at the Hanns Eisler University of Music in Berlin.

Participation in various festival events, numerous concerts and awards in Europe, India and Japan complete the picture of this versatile musician. He played with Theodosii Spassov, Milcho Leviev, Ivo Papasov, Okay Temis, Yaldaz Ibrahimova, Jiggs Whigham, Martin Lubenov, Gerard Presencer and John Hollenbeck, among others.

SIMON RAINER was born on November 29th, 1982 in Meran – Italy and grew up there. The love for music was evident from early childhood.

At the age of 8 he started playing the violin and 2 years later he switched to the guitar. Since the age of 14 he has been playing in bands of various styles including heavy metal, rock, blues and reggae. At the age of 16 he was already giving concerts at international reggae festivals

From 2001 to 2004 he attended a 3-year course for jazz and popular music at the Tyrolean State Conservatory in Innsbruck. In the same year he enrolled at the Vienna Conservatory Private University to complete his bachelor ‘s degree.

In 2007 he was in Orvieto for the Berklee Award Group Price in the
Electric guitar category on the occasion of the opening of Umbria Jazz
Winter festivals 2007/2008 nominated.

From 2008 to 2010 he completed his master’s degree at the
University of Music – Jazz Department of the Music Academy of the City of Basel with Wolfgang Muthspiel. In addition to his studies, he attended summer workshops by international jazz greats such as: Wolfgang Muthspiel, Peter Bernstein, Kurt Rosenwinkel, Mark Turner, Bobby McFerrin, Karl Ratzer, Aron Goldberg, Esperanza Spalding, Adam Nussbaum, Andy Middleton, Dino Govoni, Jim Kelly and many more

ANDREAS BRUNN – born in 1964 in Weimar, has been playing the clarinet since he was six, began to learn the guitar at the age of fourteen and has been a musician in bands of various styles ever since. Andreas Brunn studied guitar and music theory at the “Franz Liszt” University of Music in Weimar.

His composition “Two Faces” was awarded 1st prize in the Open Strings guitar composition competition in 1999, advertised throughout Germany by the specialist magazine AKUSTIKGitarre.

The guitarist has given concerts at various European and Asian festivals and has worked with Petri Hakala, Stoyan Yankoulov, Ateshan Husseinov, Uli Bartel, Mack Goldsbury, Ralf Siedhoff, Ferenc Snetberger and has given concerts with a solo program. Andreas Brunn took conga lessons with Topo Gioa and teaches percussion using the Ta-Ke-Ti-Na method.

In 2003 he received a scholarship from the Senate Administration for Science, Research and Culture, Berlin in Bulgaria and in 2008 also received a scholarship in Finland.

In the summer of 2004 and 2007 he was the artistic director of the EU-supported project “Young Music Caravan Europe”, which traveled 7,500 km with young musicians from Europe and made guest appearances at renowned festivals in a large number of countries.

Press

Our new CD was at RBB culture  featured on the radio! Wonderful Late night jazz  Shipment of Ulf Drechsel ! You can listen to it here!

Christian Erber, NDR:
“DUOMEETING – a sound that can only be created in the cultural melting pot of a metropolis like Berlin. Created by three virtuosos on their instruments, to whom cultural boundaries and musical stereotyping are completely alien.
With New Urban World Melodic Grooves  Brunn, Karparov and Rainer take their audience on a musical journey of discovery of a special kind. Their compositions, in which Balkan rhythms mix with funk, Latin and world sounds, testify to extraordinary virtuosity and joy in playing. They never sound bulky or cerebral, but always fresh, lively and lively. As you would expect in a pulsating melting pot. “

A. Brunn - V. Karparov - S. Rainer live

Concerts

Duomeeting @ Jazz im MIM

25.08.22 19.30, Jazzlights im MIM, Curt-Sachs-Saal https://www.simpk.de/ueber-uns/veranstaltungen/veranstaltungs-detailseite/veranstaltung/2022/08/25/duomeeting.html |www.akustik-art-kontakt.de

24.08.22 20:00, Gitarrenfestival Kühlunsborn | www.kunsthalle-kuehlungsborn.de/event/andreas-brunn-trio/

06.07.22 20:00, Jazzlights Open Air in front of Zwinglikirche (Rudolfplatz), www.facebook.com/JazzlightsGluehlampe |  www.akustik-art-kontakt.de

Contact

Are you planning an event and would like to inquire about one of the artists or bands? Please do not hesitate to contact us.

A.Brunn – V.Karparov – S.Rainer

Sopran & Tenor Saxophon / 7-saitige Akustik Gitarre, Percussion / E-Gitarre

Biographie

VLADIMIR KARPAROV wurde 1977 in Sofia geboren und absolvierte 1995 das französische Gymnasium mit Diplom. Im Alter von 13 Jahren begann er Saxophon zu spielen und konzertierte schon sehr bald mit einem bulgarischem Blasorchester. Jazz spielte er erstmalig als Straßenmusiker in Sofia. In dieser Zeit trat er sowohl mit Bigbands als auch mit kleineren Formationen auf und spielte zudem auch Rock, Soul und Ska.

Von 1995 bis `99 war seine musikalische Heimat die Staatliche Musikakademie “Pantcho Vladigerov“ in Sofia – als Schwerpunktfächer hatte Karparov Jazz- und Popularmusik gewählt.
1999 begann er in der Hamburger Hochschule für Populäre Musik Jazz zu studieren, beendete seine Studien an der Hochschule für Musik „Hanns Eisler“ Berlin mit Erfolg.

Die Teilnahme an diversen Festivalevents, zahlreiche Konzerte und Auszeichnungen in Europa, Indien und Japan vervollständigen das Bild dieses vielseitigen Musikers. Dabei spielte er u.a. mit Theodosii Spassov, Milcho Leviev, Ivo Papasov, Okay Temis, Yaldaz Ibrahimova, Jiggs Whigham, Martin Lubenov, Gerard Presencer und John Hollenbeck.

SIMON RAINER wurde am 29.11.1982 in Meran – Italien geboren und  wuchs dort auf. Die Liebe zur Musik stellte sich schon in früher Kindheit heraus.

Im Alter von 8 Jahren begann er  Geige zu spielen und 2 Jahre darauf wechselte er zur Gitarre. Seit seinem 14. Lebensjahr spielt er in Bands verschiedenster Stilistik darunter Heavy Metal, Rock, Blues, Reggae. Schon mit 16 konzertierte er auf Internationalen Reggaefestivals

Von 2001 bis 2004 besuchte er einen 3 Jährigen Lehrgang für Jazz und Popularmusik am Tiroler Landeskonservatorium in Innsbruck. Noch im selben Jahr inskribierte er am Wiener Konservatorium Privatuniversität um das Bachelor – Studium zu absolvieren.

2007 wurde er in Orvieto für den Berklee Award Group Price in der
Katgorie E – Gitarre anlässlich zur Eröffnung des Umbria – Jazz
Winterfestivals 2007/2008 nominiert.

Von 2008 bis 2010 absolvierte er das Master – Studium an der
Hochschule für Musik – Abteilung Jazz der Musik Akademie der Stadt Basel bei Wolfgang Muthspiel. Neben seinem Studium besuchte er Sommer Workshops um von Internationalen Jazzgrößen wie z .b: Wolfgang Muthspiel, Peter Bernstein, Kurt Rosenwinkel, Mark Turner, Bobby McFerrin, Karl Ratzer, Aron Goldberg, Esperanza Spalding, Adam Nussbaum, Andy Middleton, Dino Govoni, Jim Kelly u.v.a.

ANDREAS BRUNN – 1964 in Weimar geboren, seit dem sechsten Lebensjahr Klarinette spielend, begann im Alter von vierzehn Jahren Gitarre zu erlernen und war seit der Zeit Musiker in Bands verschiedenster Stilistiken. Andreas Brunn studierte an der Hochschule für Musik “Franz Liszt” in Weimar Gitarre und Musiktheorie.

Seine Komposition “Two Faces” wurde 1999 mit dem 1. Preis des Gitarrenkompositionswettbewerb Open Strings ausgezeichnet, durch das Fachmagazin AKUSTIKGitarre Deutschlandweit ausgeschrieben.

Der Gitarrist konzertierte auf diversen europäischen und asiatischen Festivals und arbeitete u.a. mit Petri Hakala, Stoyan Yankoulov, Ateshan Husseinov, Uli Bartel, Mack Goldsbury, Ralf Siedhoff, Ferenc Snetberger und konzertiert mit einem Soloprogramm. Andreas Brunn nahm bei Topo Gioa Unterricht im Congaspiel und unterrichtet Percussion nach der Ta-Ke-Ti-Na Methode.

2003 war er als Stipendiat der Senatsverwaltung für Wissenschaft, Forschung und Kultur, Berlin in Bulgarien und 2008 ebenfalls als Stipendiat in Finnland.

Im Sommer 2004 und 2007 hatte er die künstlerische Leitung des von der EU unterstützten Projektes “Junge Musik Karawane-Europa”, welches in beiden Jahren mit jungen Musikern aus Europa 7.500 km unterwegs war und dabei in einer Vielzahl von Ländern auf renommierten Festivals gastierte.

Presse

Unsere neue CD wurde bei RBB Kultur im Radio vorgestellt! Wunderbare Late Night Jazz Sendung von Ulf Drechsel! Selbige kann hier nachgehört werden!

Christian Erber, NDR:
„DUOMEETING – ein Sound, wie er nur im kulturellen Schmelztiegel einer Millionen-Metropole wie Berlin entstehen kann. Erschaffen von drei Virtuosen auf ihren Instrumenten, denen kulturelle Grenzen und musikalisches Schubladendenken völlig fremd sind.
Mit New Urban World Melodic Grooves nehmen Brunn, Karparov und Rainer ihr Publikum mit auf eine musikalische Entdeckungsreise der besonderen Art. Ihre Kompositionen, in denen sich Balkan-Rhythmen mit Funk-, Latin- und World-Klängen vermischen, zeugen von außergewöhnlicher Virtuosität und Spielfreude. Dabei klingen sie nie sperrig oder verkopft, sondern stets frisch, lebendig und spritzig. So wie man es in einem pulsierenden Melting Pot erwarten würde.“

A. Brunn - V. Karparov - S. Rainer live

Konzerte

Duomeeting @ ZIMMER16

25.09.22 20:00, ZIMMER 16, Florastr. 16 | www.zimmer16.com

Duomeeting @ b-flat

06.09.22 21.00, b-flat, Dircksenstr.40 | www.b-flat-berlin.de

30.08.22 20:30, Kulturinsel Thälmannpark im Rahmen des Programms DraussenStadt

Kontakt

Sie planen ein Event und möchten einen der KünstlerInnen oder Bands anfragen? Nehmen Sie gerne Kontakt zu uns auf.