KARPAROV & BRUNN

Urban world jazz

Our project

Urban World Jazz | Berlin . Sofia | Andreas Brunn (Deutschland) 7 string acoustic guitar / Vladimir Karparov (Bulgarien) soprano & tenor saxophone

The duo KARPAROV & BRUNN plays East-European Jazzand manages a musical fusion of Occident and Orient. Jazzelements, tradition of the Balkans and modern sounds are organically mixed.

The outstanding Bulgarian saxophonist Vladimir Karparov is skillful with both the musical tradition of the Balkans and modern jazz. He is said to be one of the most promising talents of Bulgarian Jazz and was distinguished for his producing several times: for instance with a prize at the International Competition for Jazzmusicians in Monaco.

Andreas Brunn creates his own style by connecting different musical influences. With his seven string guitar he even replaces a small orchestra. His guitar is a magical instrument which can also be used as drum or bass.

The pick-up is stereo so that bass- and melody-strings act on different chanels and almost sound like two different instruments. That enables a special perception of the sound.

At the German national guitar composition contest, arranged by the professional German magazine “AKUSTIK Gitarre”, Andreas Brunn won the first prize. In 2003 he received a grant from the department of science, research and culture in Berlin, which gave him the opportunity to travel Bulgaria and performing with Stojan Yankoulov (Perc.) and Ateshan Husseinov (Guitar).

New CD

With New Urban World Melodic Grooves, Brunn, Karparov and Rainer take their audience on a special kind of musical journey of discovery. Their compositions, in which Balkan rhythms mix with funk, Latin and world sounds, testify to extraordinary virtuosity and joy in playing. They never sound bulky or deafening, but always fresh, lively and sparkling. As you would expect in a pulsating melting pot.

NEW: DUOMEETING @ b-flat…Karparov & Brunn & 13 Strings met at our duo meeting.

Christian Erber, NDR(radio station): “DUOMEETING– a sound that can only arise in the cultural melting pot of a metropolis like Berlin. Created by three virtuosos on their instruments, to whom cultural boundaries and musical stereotyping are completely alien.

The DUOMEETINGEnsemble has just recorded a new CD under corona conditions. The same will be released onLAIKA Recordsin March 2021.

Biography

VLADIMIR KARPAROV was born in Sofia in 1977 and graduated from the French high school in 1995 with a diploma. He started playing the saxophone at the age of 13 and was soon giving concerts with a Bulgarian wind orchestra. He played jazz for the first time as a street musician in Sofia. During this time he performed with big bands as well as with smaller formations and also played rock, soul and ska.

From 1995 to ’99 his musical home was the State Music Academy “Pantcho Vladigerov” in Sofia – Karparov had chosen jazz and popular music as his main subjects.
In 1999 he began to study jazz at the Hamburg University of Popular Music and successfully completed his studies at the Hanns Eisler University of Music in Berlin.

Participation in various festival events, numerous concerts and awards in Europe, India and Japan complete the picture of this versatile musician. He played with Theodosii Spassov, Milcho Leviev, Ivo Papasov, Okay Temis, Yaldaz Ibrahimova, Jiggs Whigham, Martin Lubenov, Gerard Presencer and John Hollenbeck, among others.

ANDREAS BRUNN – born in 1964 in Weimar, has been playing the clarinet since he was six, began to learn the guitar at the age of fourteen and has been a musician in bands of various styles ever since. He studied guitar and music theory at the “Franz Liszt” University of Music in Weimar.

His composition “Two Faces” was awarded 1st prize in the guitar composition competition Open Strings in 1999, announced throughout Germany by the specialized magazine AKUSTIKGitarre.

The guitarist has given concerts at various European and Asian festivals and has worked with Petri Hakala, Stoyan Yankoulov, Ateshan Husseinov, Uli Bartel, Mack Goldsbury, Ralf Siedhoff, Ferenc Snetberger and has given concerts with a solo program. Andreas Brunn took conga lessons with Topo Gioa and teaches percussion using the Ta-Ke-Ti-Na method.

In 2003 he was a scholarship holder of the Senate Department for Science, Research and Culture, Berlin in Bulgaria and in 2008 also a scholarship holder in Finland.

In the summer of 2004 and 2007 he was the artistic director of the EU-supported project “Young Music Caravan Europe”, which traveled 7,500 km with young musicians from Europe and made guest appearances at renowned festivals in a large number of countries.

Press

ACOUSTIC GUITAR – 2011 issue 5 Sept./Oct.

“The exclusive teamwork between a guitar and a saxophone: The present duo disc recorded in Berlin by the string artist Andreas Brunn and the saxophone master Vladimir Karparov from Sofia is a clever and geographically unorthodox addition to the relatively thin field …” – Stefan Franzen

Jazz podium January 2011

“… Andreas Brunn, known for his play in For Free Rands (CD“ Transversal ”), has found a duo partner with the Bulgarian saxophonist Vladimir Karparov, who is the guitarist’s previous efforts for more brotherhood between Western Europe and the Balkans with a delightful and mentally engaging dialogue The crowning glory is the lack of boundaries. You have to listen deeply to the ten-piece dialogue, which is not an East, not a West Side story, but both. In this respect, the song title “East Side Story” is only one half of the range of a thoroughly successful partnership … “- Alexander Schmitz

Karparov & Brunn live

Concerts

The current query has no posts. Please make sure you have published items matching your query.

Contact

Are you planning an event and would like to inquire about one of the artists or bands? Please do not hesitate to contact us.

KARPAROV & BRUNN

Urbaner World Jazz

Das Projekt

Urban World Jazz | Berlin . Sofia | Andreas Brunn (Deutschland) 7 string acoustic guitar / Vladimir Karparov (Bulgarien) soprano & tenor saxophone

Das Duo spielt urbanen World-Jazz, welcher den Sound Berlins und die Klangwelten von Okzident und Orient verbindet.

Der bulgarische Ausnahmesaxophonist Vladimir Karparov ist in der Tradition des Balkans und modernem Jazz gleichermaßen zu Hause. Er gilt als einer der hoffnungsvollsten Talente der bulgarischen Jazzszene und wurde für sein Schaffen schon mehrfach ausgezeichnet: u.a.  als “Bester Junger Jazzmusiker im Balkan” oder ebenfalls  mit einem Preis bei Internationalem Wettbewerb für Jazzmusiker in Monaco.

Andreas Brunn, der in seinem Stil verschiedenste Einflüsse verbindet, ersetzt mit seinem siebensaitigem Instrument gut ein kleines Orchester: Diese Gitarre ist ein magisches Instrument, kann Trommel oder Bass gleichermaßen sein.

Der Tonabnehmer arbeitet in Stereo, so wirken Bass- und Melodiesaiten auf verschiedenen Kanälen fast wie verschiedene Instrumente und ermöglichen eine besondere Wahrnehmung des Sounds.

Andreas Brunn gewann  bei einem durch das Fachmagazin AKUSTIK Gitarre Deutschlandweit ausgeschriebenen Gitarrenkompositionswettbewerb den 1. Preis. 2003 war er als Stipendiat der Senatsverwaltung für Wissenschaft, Forschung und Kultur, Berlin in Bulgarien und spielte dort u.a. mit Stojan Yankoulov (Perc.) sowie Ateshan Husseinov (Gitarre).

Neuer CD

Mit New Urban World Melodic Grooves nehmen Brunn, Karparov und Rainer ihr Publikum mit auf eine musikalische Entdeckungsreise der besonderen Art. Ihre Kompositionen, in denen sich Balkan-Rhythmen mit Funk-, Latin- und World-Klängen vermischen, zeugen von außergewöhnlicher Virtuosität und Spielfreude. Dabei klingen sie nie sperrig oder verkopft, sondern stets frisch, lebendig und spritzig. So wie man es in einem pulsierenden Melting Pot erwarten würde.“

NEU: DUOMEETING  @ b-flat 2020 … Bei unserem Duomeeting trafen Karparov & Brunn & 13 Strings zusammen.

Christian Erber, NDR : „DUOMEETING – ein Sound, wie er nur im kulturellen Schmelztiegel einer Millionen-Metropole wie Berlin entstehen kann. Erschaffen von drei Virtuosen auf ihren Instrumenten, denen kulturelle Grenzen und musikalisches Schubladendenken völlig fremd sind. 

Das DUOMEETING Ensemble hat gerade unter Coronabedingungen eine neue CD aufgenommen, welche im März 2021 bei LAIKA Records erscheinen.

Biographie

VLADIMIR KARPAROV wurde 1977 in Sofia geboren und absolvierte 1995 das französische Gymnasium mit Diplom. Im Alter von 13 Jahren begann er Saxophon zu spielen und konzertierte schon sehr bald mit einem bulgarischem Blasorchester. Jazz spielte er erstmalig als Straßenmusiker in Sofia. In dieser Zeit trat er sowohl mit Bigbands als auch mit kleineren Formationen auf und spielte zudem auch Rock, Soul und Ska.

Von 1995 bis `99 war seine musikalische Heimat die Staatliche Musikakademie “Pantcho Vladigerov“ in Sofia – als Schwerpunktfächer hatte Karparov Jazz- und Popularmusik gewählt.
1999 begann er in der Hamburger Hochschule für Populäre Musik Jazz zu studieren, beendete seine Studien an der Hochschule für Musik „Hanns Eisler“ Berlin mit Erfolg.

Die Teilnahme an diversen Festivalevents, zahlreiche Konzerte und Auszeichnungen in Europa, Indien und Japan vervollständigen das Bild dieses vielseitigen Musikers. Dabei spielte er u.a. mit Theodosii Spassov, Milcho Leviev, Ivo Papasov, Okay Temis, Yaldaz Ibrahimova, Jiggs Whigham, Martin Lubenov, Gerard Presencer und John Hollenbeck.

ANDREAS BRUNN – 1964 in Weimar geboren, seit dem sechsten Lebensjahr Klarinette spielend, begann im Alter von vierzehn Jahren Gitarre zu erlernen und war seit der Zeit Musiker in Bands verschiedenster Stilistiken. Andreas Brunn studierte an der Hochschule für Musik “Franz Liszt” in Weimar Gitarre und Musiktheorie.

Seine Komposition “Two Faces” wurde 1999 mit dem 1. Preis des Gitarrenkompositionswettbewerb Open Strings ausgezeichnet, durch das Fachmagazin AKUSTIKGitarre Deutschlandweit ausgeschrieben.

Der Gitarrist konzertierte auf diversen europäischen und asiatischen Festivals und arbeitete u.a. mit Petri Hakala, Stoyan Yankoulov, Ateshan Husseinov, Uli Bartel, Mack Goldsbury, Ralf Siedhoff, Ferenc Snetberger und konzertiert mit einem Soloprogramm. Andreas Brunn nahm bei Topo Gioa Unterricht im Congaspiel und unterrichtet Percussion nach der Ta-Ke-Ti-Na Methode.

2003 war er als Stipendiat der Senatsverwaltung für Wissenschaft, Forschung und Kultur, Berlin in Bulgarien und 2008 ebenfalls als Stipendiat in Finnland.

Im Sommer 2004 und 2007 hatte er die künstlerische Leitung des von der EU unterstützten Projektes “Junge Musik Karawane-Europa”, welches in beiden Jahren mit jungen Musikern aus Europa 7.500 km unterwegs war und dabei in einer Vielzahl von Ländern auf renommierten Festivals gastierte.

Presse

AKUSTIK GITARRE – 2011 Heft 5 Sept./Okt.

„Das exklu­sive Teamwork zwischen einer Gitarre und ei­nem Saxophon: Die hier vorliegende, in Ber­lin aufgenommene Duoscheibe des Saitenkünstlers Andreas Brunn und des aus Sofia kommenden Sax­ophon Meisters Vladimir Karparov, ist eine ebenso clevere wie geographisch unortho­doxe Bereicherung des relativ dünn besetzten Fachs…“ – Stefan Franzen

Jazzpodium Januar 2011

„ … Andreas Brunn, bekannt durch sein Spiel in For Free Rands (CD„Transversal”), hat mit dem bul­garischen Saxophonisten Vladimir Kar­parov einen Duo-Partner gewonnen, der des Gitarristen bisherige Bemühungen um mehr Brüderlichkeit zwischen Westeu­ropa und Balkan mit hinreißender Dialog­freude und mentaler Grenzen-Losigkeit krönt. Man muss tief hineinhören in den Zehn-­Stücke-Dialog, der keine East, keine West Side Story, sondern beides ist. Insofern ist auch der Song-Titel „East Side Story” nur die eine Hälfte der Palette einer ganz und gar geglückten Partnerschaft….“ – Alexander Schmitz

Karparov & Brunn live

Konzerte

Das Projekt MIGRA-TON/NEUER ANFANG initiiert von Joe Kucera und der Agentur Art.em-Birgit Bogner, unterstützt vom Deutsch-Tschechischen ZukunftsFond veranstaltet Begegnungen zwischen Ensembles aus …

19:30 Uhr, Adresse Alt-Lietzow 12, 10587 Berlin Hier der Link zur Seite des Veranstalters und dem Konzert.

https://www.piseckabrana.cz/

Kontakt

Sie planen ein Event und möchten einen der KünstlerInnen oder Bands anfragen? Nehmen Sie gerne Kontakt zu uns auf.